Friday 22nd June 2018
Central London

ACTA 2018 Finalists

In Order of First Name

Eastern Eye Award for Arts
Rana Begum for her vibrant colours and clean use of lines and space
The Singh Twins for Slaves of Fashion
Waqas Khan for his exhibition at the Manchester Art Gallery

Eastern Eye Award for Dance
Aakash Odedra for #JeSuis
Seeta Patel for Sigma by Gandini Juggling
Shane Shambhu for Confessions of a Cockney Temple Dancer

Eastern Eye Award for Literature
Mahsuda Snaith for The Things We Thought We Knew
Neel Mukherjee for A State Of Freedom
Vaseem Khan for The Strange Disappearance of a Bollywood Star

Eastern Eye Award for Music
Anoushka Shankar for musical score for Shiraz
Talvin Singh for his performance at the Southbank celebrating the 20th anniversary of his Mercury prize-winning album ‘OK’
Taran Kaur aka Hard Kaur for The Rising - Mixtape Vol. 1

Eastern Eye Award for Comedy
Ahir Shah for the CONTROL show
Ayesha Hazarika for the State of the Nation show
Paul Chowdhry for the Live Innit show

Eastern Eye Award for Best Presenter
Anita Rani for My Family, Partition and Me: India 1947 documentary
Dr Ranj Singh for CBeebies series, Get Well Soon and Get Well Soon Hospital
Nadiya Hussain for The Big Family Cooking Showdown cooking competition

Eastern Eye Award for Best Production
Child of the Divide by Sudha Bhuchar
Hijabi Monologues London directed by Milli Bhatia

Eastern Eye Award for Best Director
Pooja Ghai for Lions and Tigers
Pravesh Kumar for Miss Meena & the Masala Queens
Sarmad Masud for My Pure Land

Eastern Eye Emerging Artist Award
Mahtab Hussain for You Get Me?
Reece Bahia for Thriller Live
Suman Kaur for her artistic depictions of Asian women and Sikh soldiers during World War One

Eastern Eye Community Engagement Award
At the Heart of the Nation photographic exhibition for highlighting the history of India in Britain
Migration Museum for No Turning Back: Seven Migration Moments that Changed Britain exhibition
Science Museum for the Illuminating India Exhibition

Eastern Eye Award for Theatre, Best Actor
Asif Khan for his role as Dr Aziz in A Passage To India
Raj Ghatak for his role as Amir in The Kite Runner
Reece Bahia for his role in Thriller Live

Eastern Eye Award for Theatre, Best Actress
Chetna Pandya for her role in Of Kith and Kin
Medhavi Patel for her role in We are the Lions, Mr Manager!
Meera Syal for her role in Annie

Eastern Eye Award for Film, TV & Drama, Best Actor
Adeel Akhtar for Unforgotten and Ghosted
Sacha Dhawan for his role in The Boy with the Topknot
Sanjeev Bhaskar for his role in Unforgotten

Eastern Eye Award for Film, TV & Drama, Best Actress
Archie Panjabi for her role in Next of Kin
Indira Varma for her role in Game of Thrones
Kiran Sonia Sawar for her roles in Diana & I and Next of Kin

Eastern Eye People's Choice Award
Adil Ray for acting
Anita Rani for TV presenting
Dr Zeus for music
Meera Syal for theatre
Mohsin Hamid for literature
Nadiya Hussain for TV presenting
Naughty Boy for music
Paul Chowdhry for comedy